Since it was very cold when we woke up just after 7am, we had a lazy start. Himself went off to take photos while Herself caught up with emails, etc.
Eventually we got moving. We found a parking spot that was big enough for the mobile home just a block off th Main Street, and started our walking tour in the very cold, mostly cloudy, windy conditions.
As we passed St Patrick’s Catholic church, a funeral had not long finished so the church was open. we were warmly welcomed by a lady who blessed us and encouraged us to go inside and take a long around. Unfortunately, we didn’t feel right taking photos in the church when there were still people in there talking.
Next stop, Dog Rock. This is a naturally occurring piece of Rock that juts out of the ground in such a way that it looks like the head of a dog. Scale was hard to show but his collar is as thick as an adult’s legs are long!
Across the road was a motel with a pretty garden which included these striking grevilleas.
We then made our way down the Main Street, York Street, which was very quaint but way too busy with traffic, both vehicular and pedestrian, to take photos. The first building that really caught our attention was Town Hall which, sadly, was locked up. Across the road and a little further down the street is the Scots Uniting church (also closed).
We were very fortunate that St. John the Evangelist Anglican Church was open.
It is only available for viewing between 10am and 2pm Monday to Friday when volunteers available. Unfortunately, most of the volunteers are elderly and some have been threatened so they have less volunteers than they might otherwise have. St John’s is the first consecrated church in Western Australia (1848). It was built in 1844 and has been extended with the addition of a porch, a lady’s chapel and a high altar and choir gallery. The front of the original church ended where the archway in the photo below is.It has beautiful stained glass windows in the original part of the church.
Each seat in the Lady’s Chapel has its own unique needle-pointed kneelers. There was one in a beautiful Bargello style but Herself didn’t ask Himself to take a photo. It is a lovely church; we could easily have spent more time looking around.
The first ever ANZAC dawn service was held in St John’s by Reverend White in 1930. He then went up onto Mt Clarendon to oversee the dropping of a wreath into the sea where the first convoy of ships carrying ANZAC troops gathered. The convoy, carrying 30,00 troops, departed Australia on 1st November 1914. So many Australian volunteered that a second convoy left on 31st December.
The rectory is next door to the church. The original house was built in 1850 and the first floor was added in 1875.
Just down the road is the Wesley Uniting Church with a pretty manse. The Scots and the Wesleyans alternate services between the two church buildings which make Herself smile!
Another block away, we found the old Courthouse with a unique archway which apparently was original built using no cement. It takes quite some skill to make an archway from granite that is self supporting and there are two on this building.
Across the road from the Courthouse are some replica stocks, which were used as a form of punishment for minor crimes. Herself found this rogue who needed punishment!
The Old Gaol, built in the 1850s by convicts, was quite close but it was lunch time so we returned to our van to eat.